Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Linux… AGAIN.

leave a comment »

My first experience with Linux in the entire history of mankind was roughly around 3 years ago. I still remember the day I showed-off my Ubuntu installation disk that I requested from the free shipping Canonical offered. Heck, all I cared about was the packaging. I could easily download the ISO from the net, but I chose not to because what I was after was the super cool (for me) CD ‘case’ and the bubble-wrap protected disc.

Time passed, and so did a few other distributions I came upon with. I experimented with Linux on our super old computer which had only 256MB of RAM, and a 1900’s grade Pentium 4 processor that runs at 1.7GHz. Torture. Didn’t I mention that I had to live with that disgrace for about 6 years?

Anyway, I have my laptop now, and with pretty decent specs. I have tried a more distributions than before, and barely got satisfied.

In case you’re wondering, I’m still using Linux. Why? Simple. I have to live with it. Not because I have no choice, but because I want to.

I do understand that using Linux means spending more time on getting stuff to work. And by stuff I mean almost everything that has something to do with hardware that hasn’t Linux support.

Windows = Full Hardware Support.

No thanks. The reason I’m staying with Linux is that it makes me learn how to compute. By using Windows, I’m learning Windows. Linux exposes me to things I have never been to. By putting my data to danger, I actually learn things whenever I do screw things up. I’m not saying that Linux screws things up. It’s just that, it gives me more control than Windows does. Even though I have little general knowledge of Linux, I can get my way around.

One last note. Or a piece of my opinion. Or a few text to my post:

I strongly believe that Linux is a formidable operating system to reckon with. The “dependency system” (lol, that’s what I call it) is actually Linux’s strength. The only problem, on my opinion, is that Windows has too much advantage over hardware support.

How I expect this to be solved? Have one supreme Linux distribution. A Linux distribution supported by the other distributions. People can work together, right? Google Chrome beat Firefox in a shorter amount of time than I expected it to. I just hope someone manages to do the same with an OS.

Written by kpbotbot

June 10, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

