Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

iPad 2: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA (Can’t really think of something else to add so I’ll just laugh)

with 5 comments

By now, you should have already realized that I don’t like the iPad. Never did. With the iPad 2, my dislike for it has tremendously increased since the first one. Don’t get me wrong: I don’t dislike everything that Apple makes. I like the iPod touch.

Yep, that’s pretty much it.

Just kiddin.

Point is, I’m not an Apple hater. I’m an Android user, but definitely not a fanboy.

Let’s begin.

My first impression with the iPad came in three words. Namely, “what”, “the”, and most importantly, “fuck”. How much was that tablet worth? Here’s something quoted from Gizmodo:

Full pricing: The 16GB, Wi-Fi-only version costs $500, while the 32GB is $600 and 64GB is $700. Pricing increases by $130 to add 3G. The Wi-Fi-only models ship in 60 days, while 3G models will ship in 90. [Apple iPad]

Those prices have only one thing to say to those who think before buying: GET A FUCKING LAPTOP INSTEAD. Want my opinion? GET A FUCKING LAPTOP INSTEAD. Why? Because the hardware is overpowered and the underlying operating system undercapable. Don’t get what I mean? Here’s a little example:

The iPad comes with a 1GHz Apple A4 processor. Despite that fact, it can’t do Flash Player and can’t multitask. Regardless whether multitasking and Flash Player is important or not, the hardware specifications have not been fully taken advantage of. Period. Sure, iOS 4 and above get some sort of multitasking, but only in a limited way. For those who keep on playing games and get a lot of messages while playing, stop ignoring messages. There’s this feature. If you think I contradicted myself, I didn’t. Again, the point is, the underlying OS is undercapable despite the awesome hardware.

Now the iPad 2.

Notable differences between the iPad and the iPad 2 is the new processor, a front and back facing camera, slimmed down body, and a lot more hype.

First is the new processor. It’s dual core now.

Point? No point seen.

If you’ve heard that something has a dual core processor and start running around to get yourself that nice new product, think again. Dual core processors still require applications to be modified/written to take advantage of that CPU with two cores. If an app doesn’t take advantage of that, it will be like you’re only using one core.

ANYWAY, the addition of the new processor is somewhat, for me, unnecessary. The iPad is already uselessly powerful and fast. What’s the point of making it even more powerful? Completely unnecessary. It’s not like there’s a super complex fart app that requires lot of CPU processing for a simple fart sound to be outputted. You get the point.

The cameras. People have been wanting ’em since the first iPad. This one will wipe away your tears. Good for a video chat, bad for taking pictures. To properly visualize what I mean, first, get a large notebook and pretend taking a picture of someone or something 🙂

Another one is the slimmer iPad. Yay.

That’s pretty much all the “important stuff”.

Back to the “GET A FUCKING LAPTOP” statement. The reason why I’ve been suggesting this is that it’s better for your money. As I’ve said, it’s powerful, but the OS is undercapable. Besides, What point do you see in spending so much for a device that you can use to play only casual games and 3D ones that are better off run from a personal computer and can do much more? If it’s for social networking purposes and something like that, get an iPhone or an iPod touch. A larger screen and it’s accompanying hype won’t do much more compared to that iPhone or iPod touch I expect you to already own.

This can’t be laptop/PC replacement. It never will. If you think this will make you even more productive, well…it won’t. Physical keyboards kicks a lot more ass than onscreen ones, and operating systems that run on PCs and laptops allow you to do much more.

Seriously.

I haven’t even come to the App Store‘s nature here, but I won’t get to that anymore. I’m tired.

Written by kpbotbot

March 5, 2011 at 9:26 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] few days ago, I posted this post out of sheer boredom when I was out of town. Basically, it talks about the iPad 2, why I […]

  2. Dude, are you me?

    masat01

    April 1, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    • Depends how crazy you are 😛 Jk. Why do you say so anyway? xD

      kpbotbot

      April 3, 2011 at 9:16 am

  3. agree… agree… iPad was just good for movies and now its dual core… where’s all that processing power go? tsk3

    friend ni Kira A.

    April 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm


Leave a Reply

