Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Tap Tap Revenge 4 for Android: Rushed (not that I’m complaining)

leave a comment »

So here it is. Finally. Tap Tap Revenge for Android. I’ve always wanted an iPod touch for the sole purpose of playing TTR. If you ask me, it’s a killer app (click for definition). It’s the only application in the Apple App Store that’s worth dying for. I took an Android phone, and not an iPod touch because…you know.

Anyway, I was out of town yesterday to meet with cousins and stuff. At one point I was bored. I checked the Android Market for interesting things. Scrolling through the top free games, I saw Tap Tap Revenge. WTF? Seriously?

It was unbelievalble. I’ve always thought that Tapulous would never release a port for Android. I have already read from multiple message boards about the impossibility, including Tapulous’ forum itself. Some of the devs think it’s not a good idea to port to Android, since there are a lot of devices to consider. Different devices, processors, screen resolutions, the ability to perform multitouch, and the like. They even joked about making a lite version for the less powerful phones.

So anyway, before I downloaded the game, I triple checked the app author (Tapulous, check), app description (It’s professionally written. Check), and the date (Confused. It may just be an April fools joke. Seriously, it was April 2 GMT +8). I ended up downloading it.

I played for about 20 minutes, then took a screenshot to brag about the port, then stopped.

Why I stopped playing so soon:

  • Take a look at the screenshot. An ad has been drawn over 3 buttons. THREE BUTTONS.
  • My phone sucks (Optimus One).
  • 600MHz isn’t enough to smoothly play the game. I had to overclock to 787MHz with the performance governor.
  • The O1’s touchscreen will read only 2 points at a time. Plus, it’s VERY BUGGY.
  • The main menu is VERY SLOW.

But that doesn’t mean I didn’t like the game. I consider those small drawbacks, since it’s not really Tapulous’ fault, but my poor ability to choose a good phone properly. No really, that’s the most I can get for my budget.

Anyway, here’s a list of things I like about the game:

  • Tapulous didn’t fuck us all up by giving a very very minimal TTR experience. I mean, it looks and works just like the iOS version.
  • Tapulous ported the game.
  • For a phone as bad as mine (320×480 resolution, 600MHz CPU, Adreno 200 GPU), the game ran and was playable.
  • In-game performance was actually very good. (check above this bullet point)
  • Same songs and shit from iOS version.

So yeah, that’s pretty much all that I can say. I’m planning of getting a Motorola Milestone by trading this phone JUST TO PLAY THE GAME. Also, I’m not expecting Tapulous to make a lot of performance tweaks to the game. What I would like to see are fixes to the UI design, and stuff. I mean, take a look at the ad placement.

Off to look for more tweaks.

Written by kpbotbot

April 3, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

