Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Facebook chat, screw yourself.

with 3 comments

The new Facebook chat is bullshit (explanation below).

Go get Pidgin. Seriously.

As always, my censoring skills are commendable.

My frustrations over Facebook started when they introduced the new wall. The new wall wasn’t actually new. It was new in the sense that it stripped off the features that I’ve always loved and used — the ability to sort the posts on my wall according to the people who posted them, that is, friends, myself, and both combined. Then they called it something new.

I’m not really resistant into changes, but I hope that they would at least give us a preview of what’s coming, try it, and let us decide whether to switch/”upgrade” or not.

Why the new Facebook chat is bullshit:

  • I fucking hate everything that is “fully automatic” and does not give you control.
  • It promises to show you the people who you frequently message with. What I see are random friends I’ve never even talked to.
  • There is no pop-out chat option. I’ve used to always use this everytime FB chat frequently sends the person you’re talking to “offline”.
  • Limiting availability to specific people now takes 4 more clicks. This may not be much, but…still…
  • It’s harder to see which people are offline and which ones aren’t. Anti-stalking countermeasure much, Facebook?
  • It’s reading my “Tab” presses. I use CTRL+TAB a whole fucking lot to switch tabs. Once I do this, the chat window focuses on another person and I end up sending messages to the wrong person.
  • A whole lot more.

So came back to using Pidgin again. The interface isn’t pretty (the Linux version at least), but it’s a whole lot better than the piece of shit chat that Facebook forced us to be using.

Once you download and install it, just add a new account with the account type “Facebook”. Fill in necessary fields (some fields are can be be empty; not required) and you should have a proper chat program.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate it too..Ang hirap mag hide..hmmp.

    john tugano

    July 23, 2011 at 8:48 am

  2. […] Facebook chat, screw yourself. (veryexistence.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I so know the reasons of your fury, dude, because I feel the same way and have experienced the same b*******!
    You seem to have an interesting idiolect. I like that! Glad to see you on John’s blog. I’ll keep an eye on you from now on.

    Sony Fugaban

    August 2, 2011 at 4:56 am


Leave a Reply

