Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Arch Linux on the HP dm1z (Introduction)

with 4 comments

This is an extremely lengthy intro. Real install post here.

Ever since got my hands on this laptop, I have been deliberating about installing Arch. For quite some time, I thought that I should stick with Windows 7 instead, since I wouldn’t have to worry about the shitload of things I still have to do when installing Arch (or Linux in general). Days passed, and performance is still in mint condition due to the fact that I have the most excellent Windows maintenance skills ever(HAHA). Every useless start up entry have been removed, leaving only those that are needed to make the system usable.

To give you an idea of how obsessive-compulsive I am with these shit:

Those are all that I keep running. The leftmost one being the printer control thingy, and the one next to it the screenshot app I used to take that….screenshot. Others normally not running in the tray, I keep them disabled until I use them.

But still:

Yep. 800~MB RAM average usage with only MediaMonkey and Firefox running. I understand that 64bit versions of OSs use more RAM than their 32-bit counterparts, but this is just too much. Plus, I still have to use my RAM for the GPU, leaving a lot less free memory. This might not be too much of an issue for you, but I like keeping things extremely simple. Even if that would mean spending hours and hours of  installation and configuration to make things work the way I like them to.

I have 2GB of RAM by the way.

That was quite a long introduction wasn’t it?

Written by kpbotbot

August 2, 2011 at 5:15 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Btw were you able to get rid of the ‘multitouch’ functionality of the touch pad? Its very annoying to use that on ubuntu (linux in general).

    Shishir

    August 4, 2011 at 6:30 am

    • Nope. My 10-synaptics.conf file doesn’t say too much / does not give me other options or choices. Besides, the multitouch here in Linux is, apparently, better than on Windows. The only thing that’s annoying is when I click and drag. I can’t hold down the left mouse button and scroll around. If you figure out how to disable this, please do share 😀

      kpbotbot

      August 4, 2011 at 10:12 am

  2. I have one more problem. When I close the lid of the laptop (it is suppose to “suspend” itself). When I lift the lid noting comes on the screen its completely blank and then I have to force “power off” and restart. Do you face this problem?

    Shishir

    August 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    • acpid might not be reading acpi events when you open the lid. Even if acpid isn’t responding to the action, the system should somehow power back the system from standby when you press the power button. I’m not using acpid. I just suspend and hibernate from the command line.

      Does the system power back on when you press the power button? Mine works fine.

      EDIT: The drivers you’re using might also matter here. I’m using the open source ones instead of Catalyst 🙂

      kpbotbot

      August 5, 2011 at 2:33 am


Leave a Reply

