Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

I’m going to hell for writing this. NOT.

with 4 comments

Prerequisites for reading:

  • An open mind.
  • Belief in God.
  • Common sense.

Background information about me: I grew up and still am currently with my grandparents who are very religious, especially my grandmother. I could have grown up to this age (18) extremely religious, but I haven’t. Sometimes, there are those people who can’t help but question what the hell it is that other people do. I am one of those, and I hate being very compliant. Anyway, what you’re about to read are just random bits of my opinions and interpretations of my religion (Roman Catholic). I may be wrong at a lot of things here, and I admit I know not a lot of stuff my own religion teaches me. But like I said, OPINION.

1. Religion is useless. Even those who “teach them” say so indirectly. Why? Remember those times when those who “teach” us can’t just ignore the fact that there are a LOT of religions out there? And that they say they don’t have to be Catholic/Christian to be able to go to heaven? That could mean I can be in heaven even without a religion.

2. God exists. He created everything. The Earth is not the center of the universe, literally and figuratively. The creation story is exagerrated (duh), and I believe God created everything in a systematic way. That means He built everything from the ground up. I strongly believe in this “theory” because there are still a lot of basic things we can’t explain. Also, where did everything come from? The universe itself must have come from somewhere somehow. Or Someone.

3. Heaven and hell: A giant reward and punishment system. It’s all “set up” to “reward” those who do good and “punish” those who do bad. My question is… why? Why can’t people do good because it’s their duty to do good and not because they will be rewarded in the near future?

IMO,  Heaven is “where someone will be” when people remember (in a good way) someone when he/she dies. It’s a lot like being immortal, in a sense that a part of that person lives with the people who find him/her meaningful in their lives. Hell is when no one ever really cares, or that person screwed so much that people no longer want to ever think he/she ever existed.

I still believe in the afterlife though. This is just how I view things. You see, for me, being remembered matters a lot more than the fact that I may be in the heaven we all think and know. Or not.

4. The belief in God and respect for one another are enough 99% of the time. Look back to my point #3. I would love to see a world where people do things and actually care about it’s outcome and how it affects others around him/her. That, my friends, are the building blocks to everything good that follows. It is popularly known as “caring”, or as some people call it, “giving a shit” about things.

And oh, prayers. I believe the simplest and most sincere prayers work the best. I don’t really think the pattered/memorized prayers like the rosary are any different. Humans, LIKE US, composed those, so we must be able to make our own. No need to memorize anything.

5. I’m not going to hell for writing this. However, people are going going to hate me. FFS, religion is man made. Stand up for what you believe in, and not for something that has been taught to you since the very day you were born. I’m not saying we should trash religion, but at least let’s be critical about things.

Written by kpbotbot

November 21, 2011 at 3:51 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] have my own reasons for not believing and complying with this bullshit which can be found here. If it was TL:DNR or the incoherence of the post was too much for you, here’s a quick rundown […]

  2. Jesus hates the same things that you hate. He is against religion and did not want to form one. Rather, He wants to build a KINGDOM. And that Kingdom is only for those who see. It is a place where people selflessly care for one another. I believe you can see, and I hope His invitation for you to love Him you will find neither vague nor complex. For in this very same language-love-you spoke and have come up with this blog.

    “…I have summoned you by name; you are mine. ” Isaiah 43:1

    “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

    Godspeed.

    =)

    jerome

    July 9, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    • I believe in God. The crap it comes with that’s collectively called “religion”? No. I hate looking at people only doing things just because “God told them to” or they think that they’re going to heaven for doing such things. It’s annoying. It’s turning people into mindless creatures aiming for heaven without actually caring for one another.

      Anyway, thanks for the amazing comment. This is actually a sucky post, so try and have a look at this one – https://veryexistence.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/religious-people-who-never-put-theories-into-practice-should-die/ 🙂 Profanity warning tho.

      kpbotbot

      July 10, 2012 at 5:19 am

      • Actually, God can still speak nowadays in many different ways. He cares and always wants the best for us. However, we have a free will. He is not a pushy Being, forcing us to do what we do not want to do. Nevertheless, it is only through faith in Jesus Christ that one might be saved (John 3:16).

        I’ve read that blog entry and you’re right by saying “It (Bible stories) was written to teach us how to be human.”. I agree to the truth that It teaches us both to be human, and humane. Yet understanding the purpose of Bible stories isn’t the end in itself. It should lead us to a change in character (loving other people more than ourselves, which you also have said and to which, again, I completely agree with), and to loving Jesus Christ in truth-to knowing and exploring how great His Love is for us. GRACE.

        “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” Romans 3:23

        “Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'” John 14:6

        You’re blog entries serve as eye-openers. Keep writing.

        Godpeed.

        =)

        jerome

        July 10, 2012 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

