Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Surface and why I probably won’t like it.

leave a comment »

Okay, I must admit – I’m an Android fanboy. Before you bash me though, I ask you to hear me out as I’m not forcing my opinion on you. Rather, I’ll talk about why I love it and why I’ll continue to love it despite the possibility that its time may come to an end.

My first Android phone was LG’s infamous (at least to the tinkerers) Optimus One. It has a 600MHz single core Qualcomm processor and half a gig of RAM running Android 2.2 Froyo. It was pretty underpowered, and about half a year later I couldn’t find nice games that would run on it as most stopped caring about the low end droids. Not to mention Facebook and many other apps performed like shit.

Even through all that, I still loved that phone.

Why?

BECAUSE LINUX IS FUCKING AWESOME.

Recall (or if you don’t know yet, know) that Android runs on top of the Linux kernel. I’m not going into details but all you have to know is that Linux kicks ass. Seriously, Google it.

Here are the things I’ve been able to do on that underpowered thing simply because it can be done:

  • Install an ARM version of Ubuntu, a free and modern Linux operating system. Did I mention that there was an actual GUI and not just some old school text-based prompt?
  • Run a Minecraft server on top of Java on top of Ubuntu on top of the Linux kernel Android already runs on. See: chrooting
  • USB. Fucking. Host. That means you can browse a flash drive from the phone, use a USB mouse / keyboard / etc. How many GB does the top-end iPad have? 64GB? Because with USB host you can even mount a god damn external hard drive, which I just did with my Nexus 7 at half the price of a fucking iPad mini.

Let’s not forget Microsoft’s Surface. As I was reading this article, I couldn’t help but agree.

I can tell that it’s a great product. It’s just that it’s not something that “suites me”. I personally haven’t tried Surface (Windows RT / Windows on ARM), but for some reason I can tell that it’s a hybrid of both Android and iOS in the “way it works”. iOS is too restrictive while Android is too open. Both have their advantages and it somehow feels that Microsoft’s taking recipes from both.

The problem with me, though, is that I want a fully open device. Besides, the Nexus 7 and MS’s Surface both run on NVIDIA’s Tegra 3 T30L chipset, so I see no point in spending a fuckton more on an operating system I can’t possibly play around with.

I own the hardware. I must have total control over it.

I’m not letting that thinking go. Not in a million years.

Written by kpbotbot

December 17, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

