Our Very Existence

Random. And incoherent.

Left behind in tech. Again.

leave a comment »

A few months after I got an LG Optimus One, my first Android phone, an onslaught of other droids made sure that my device felt like something that came out 5 years ago. Two months after ownership, LG’s Optimus 2X came out. In other words, here I am with a 600MHz single core phone amid a generation full of dual core droids and even at least 1GHz single cores.

So now, I decided not to choose too cheap. I opted for a Nexus 7 over mid-range smartphones as I get more with the Nexus at the same price range.

Tegra 3 T30L, 1GB RAM, NFC. What else could I be missing?

Nothing, for now.

Next year, probably a lot.

The Tegra 3 system-on-chip is equipped with a quad-core CPU built using a 40nm manufacturing process, with each core being ARM Cortex A9’s with the exception of the extra low-power ARMv7 companion core.

The upcoming SoCs for 2013 are even more powerful, with a godly gap in instructions per clock compared to the previous generations. To put things into perspective, here’s a screenshot of the top Android devices (androidbenchmark.net) currently in the market. While benchmarks don’t tell the  whole story, they give a good-enough idea as to where a specific device stands.

PassMark Android Benchmark Charts - Google Chrome_2012-12-25_19-31-55

Get this. The Galaxy Note II (2nd place) packs 4 ARM Cortex A9’s clocked at 1.6GHz, while the Nexus 10 sits at the top with 2 ARM Cortex A15’s clocked at 1.7GHz.

In short, the new SoCs based on the A15 kick roughly 2 – 3 times more ass per core than its predecessor. Though it might be due to the die shrink (32nm or 28nm from 40nm), I’m pretty sure there have been major changes in the architecture, but I can’t speak about that as I know jackshit about processors in general.

What does this mean for me then?

Outdating at its finest!

Oh well. I have to get used to this until I get a decent job in the future, assuming I’ll make it that far.

Leave a Reply

